The contest Stairs Design Awards is organised by PBM Group.

PBM Group is a French company specialised in precast concrete elements for construction.


The contest Stairs Design Awards is designed for the participants to create an innovative staircase with a strong identity that becomes a key architectural feature way beyond its functional role.

The goal is for the participants to be creative and show their project.


Imagine and create a staircase with a particular design, completely different from all existing possibilities. Other materials may be used in combination with concrete but concrete should remain the main component. The staircase should retain its function as a staircase but also has to comply with accessibility rules and must be feasible.




Registration is free and open from the 1st October 2018 and up to 3 December 2018. An e-mail will be sent confirming the participant number assigned along with a PDF file providing all the documents to include in order to validate your registration. This number will have to be noted on the final file for submission. If you enter the contest as a team, you will have to choose a principal (representative) for your team and attach a copy of all the student cards.



File content to be sent:

  • Synthesis report with explanation text
  • Description of the project (artistic choice, technical performance and détails, description of the final rendering).
  • Plates with A2 dimensions, in portrait format with:

– A staircase drawing in 1/50th

– An elevation of the staircase in 1/50th

– A picture of the full staircase in its environment

Any additional indication or picture necessary to understand the project.


The complete file should be sent to: communication@pbm.fr with the following object “Stairs Design Awards” + participant number assigned. Voluminous documents should be sent via Wetransfer.




  • 1st October 2018: Opening of registrations
  •  3 December 2018: : Closure of registrations
  • 15 February 2019 : Closing date for submission
  • From 16 February to 1st March 2019 : Selection of 8 finalists PBM
  • 4 march 2019 : Finalists announced
  • 5 March to 7 April 2019 : Public vote
  • 8 april 2019 : Award Ceremony